A Letter From My Daughter Ali

Dear Mom,

We have had a great weekend together and I really want you to know how incredibly happy I am that you are in my life now in a healthier way then ever before.  I am so amazed by how far you have come as a wife, mother, grandmother & friend.

I believe that everyone has to fall really hard before they can get back up.  You have risen back up in a way that most never thought that you would be able to and I think I speak for many when I say that we are so proud of you. The person you were in the past has made the person you are today which is creating the person you will be in the future and I have many high hopes for you.  I love you.

My adoption has probably been one of the hardest things that I have ever had to deal with in my life.  You opening yourself up has really made me understand things more clearly.  I want you to know that I understand and have no negative feelings any longer.  I have always told you that I love you first because you gave me life, without you I wouldn’t be here, which would mean baby Anthony your grandson wouldn’t and who could ever imagine life without that guy!

Anthony & Uncle Lance

I want to thank you for choosing one of the best families for me to be adopted into.  It amazes me how open everything has been and how much time I was able to spend with you growing up.  I love that we have all just been one big family and I am so thankful for Angela & Al, you made the best choice ever.

Ali & Lance

Mom do you remember the fishing trip that you took us kids on?  I will never forget how sad I was when I found out that we weren’t catching the fish to keep as pets.  It’s very strange that I have never forgotten that trip.  My first fishing trip ever and I had to let my fish go, just as had I had to let you go after our visit and return to my adoptive parents.

I see so much of myself in you, and so does everyone else.  The way we speak, stand, walk and someone once told me that we hold our mouths open the same.  I know that’s weird but it’s definitely true.

No matter what you do someone will always have something to say about it.  You can do everything in the world for someone and they could hate you days, weeks, months even years later.  All that should matter is who you have now, who you are now, and what you’re doing now.

I love you always and forever and I promise I will never leave your side and be there to support you every step of the way.  Baby Anthony is so lucky to have a grandmother like you, and you and him have truly bonded lately and its beautiful.

Happy Holidays to everyone and a blessed New Year 🙂

-Alison Duckworth Rodgers

This entry was posted in Dysfunctional Family Relationships, Healing and Recovery, Life's Blessings and Joys, Mental Health, Toxic Relationships, Traumatic Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Letter From My Daughter Ali

  1. Pingback: Open Adoption: Not The Painless Option | I Survived a Murder Attack — My Family Didn't

  2. Reblogged this on I Survived a Murder Attack — My Family Didn't and commented:

    A post from the past… Oh the good days !!

  3. Alison Rodgers says:

    Yeah that was all a lie to maybe help you feel better about yourself… I was drunk and lying

  4. Sunshine says:

    This is simply beautiful!

    • Beautiful it was, unfortunately see Alison’s latest comment. There is nothing pretty about her evil hurtfulness.

      • Sunshine says:

        So sorry Becky… funny how I seem to be going through something similar with my 23 year old… she tells me to F off and then she writes back…breaks my heart. Like you, I do have blessings in my survival and I need to concentrate on that, not hurtful words. Thank you dear and big hugs to you. ❤

      • Insanity amongst family members seems to be the norm. Hugs back to you as well. Wishing you peace!!

  5. shaunynews says:

    WOW..I had a tear in my eye..x
    Life can knock us out the park sometimes

    More love, less hate
    Your Scottish buddy x

  6. paininhidingabuse says:

    Wow this is the most touching letter Iv read…u obviously a great mom and deserve the family that u have..
    Its left me crying and wishing i will have same to say to my mom after much hurt and pain, after many years , who knows!

    Take lots of care Alison
    Love lisa

Leave a Reply

