Guest Post: Living With PTSD

Please join me in welcoming Zoe, author of both Behind The Mask of Abuse and BuckWheats Risk. Zoe writes candidly about her experiences with abuse, rape, and the after effects she still lives with and fights daily. Zoe has also written a book of poetry: If I Could Write My Heart.

When you hear about PTSD, what’s the first thing you think of?  If you’re like most, it will take your mind to soldiers who have been in combat coming back from war.  While it’s true that many soldiers (if not all) will battle PTSD to some level, there are many other people living with it who have never been to war.

What causes PTSD or C-PTSD?  In short, anyone living through or witnessing one or more traumatic events.  There are different levels of severity with PTSD, depending on the event/s and how long one has lived with it untreated.  Below is a limited list of events that can cause PTSD.

  • Car accidents
  • Witnessing a death
  • Loss of a child
  • Abuse in any form (The reason I live with it)
  • Serious illness (Or surgery)
  • Violent crimes
  • Natural disasters

These are just a few but you get the idea.

One can live with PTSD for a long time without knowing they have it.  There are some things you can look for that indicate the possibility.  Below are a few.

  • Nightmares
  • Flashbacks of the traumatic event/s
  • Insomnia
  • Hyper vigilance
  • Moodiness (rage in particular)
  • Easily startled
  • Anxiety/Panic
  • Feeling numb or dissociated

I’m sure you’ve noticed that I added C-PTSD, this is a more severe form of it, where one will dissociate (not by choice) in order to cope with the symptoms. It’s not to be confused with DID.  The “C” stands for “Complex.”  Dissociation is going numb and/or disengaging with what going on around you.

I’ve lived with C-PTSD for years without knowing it.  I was born into an abusive family, and I survived all forms of abuse up into my late 20’s.  I’m now 42 and it’s only been about 2 ½ years since I learned that I battle this.

Once I knew, my first question/s were, “Can I recover, and if so how?”  The good news is, with hard work, it’s possible to recover.  I can’t speak for everyone but in my experience, I couldn’t do it alone.  I go to therapy.  I don’t do talk therapy or CBT, neither have been effective in treating C-PTSD for me, in fact if anything it made things worse.

The two types of therapy that I’ve found to be really helpful are, Somatic Experiencing and OEI.  EMDR is another form of therapy that is very effective for PTSD but also intense.

These therapies require you to walk through the pain even sit with it while it’s desensitized. It sounds awful, and that part is, but once done, it will no longer buckle you. The other side feels amazing.  I don’t want this to be too long, so I won’t elaborate further on the therapies. 

To anyone out there who lives with this or suspects having it, I’m here to say…

There is hope.

This entry was posted in Guest writer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Guest Post: Living With PTSD

  1. I feel weird liking this…lol

  2. Haha well don’t .. Thank you so much for your willingness to share on my blog. It’s an honor to have you.

  3. You two! I am proud to know both of you and to be following your blogs. Keep on helping us to understand what you have and are going through.
    You are right – there is hope.
    Scott

  4. Sheila Schlicht says:

    Thank you for Sharing and enlightening me!

  5. Melanie says:

    Knowing where the suffering is coming from is half the battle. The other half is learning to cope with it. Zoe, you are an inspiration.

  6. That’s very true, that knowing is half the battle! Thank you Mel!

  7. tersiaburger says:

    Zoe you are an amazing person. Strong, resilient and a compassionate friend. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. You are truly helping people out there – I know because I have benefitted from your blog! You are an inspiration!

  8. Yes Zoe is an amazing friend. Thanks again Zoe for being my guest.

  9. There was a point in my life when my 2nd exhusband, myself and his daughter were all diagnosed with PTSD, I haven’t written about it yet and what let us to be diagnosed with it, it was a horrible horrible time in my/our lives.
    I’m getting stronger and realize that maybe I may still be dealing with this,,,I should be strong enough to write it all out soon.
    Thank you for this xo

Leave a Reply

