A Little Of This And A Little Of That

The stitches in my right hand are really a nuisance. The stitches in my legs and knee are not really bothering me. I am able to walk around fairly well. I picked the ripe cherries from our cherry tree and was able to vacuum the house with my left hand.

I am thankful that I have a very high tolerance for pain. Having a large amount of stitches was an emotional trigger for me. When the surgeon stitched my right hand at the hospital, I flash backed to 1991 when I was stabbed. He was stitching the exact same area where I had been cut years ago during my attempt to grab the knife with my right hand from my attacker.

I told the surgeon that this area on my right hand was all scar tissue. Usually I do not have any feeling in that area of my hand. However, this new laceration was so deep, and the pain so great, I nearly jumped off the bed when he was injecting the numbing medicine directly into the wound. The surgeon had to inject the area 4 times and the pain was excruciating. Ronnie and our friends Sai and Beena tried to comfort me during the injections. But the pain was unbearable, and I screamed. I have had hundreds of stitches from head to toe and nothing compares to having injections in the hand.

Not having complete use of my right hand is a pain in the butt! I remembered being released from the hospital after the stabbing and trying to change Lance’s diaper without use of my right hand. The poor baby had his diaper hanging sideways until I mastered diaper changing with one hand. Giving him a bath also was difficult. Many of those memories have re-surfaced the past few days.

I am hopeful that in 10 more days all the stitches will be removed and I will be back to normal. I do not enjoy being restricted. I need to be doing something all the time. During this period of temporary physical limitations, I have spent some time reading about emotional abandonment and the effects on children. I plan on blogging about this next week and how it relates to my life.

Another interesting subject is how one person’s abuse can affect generations. This topic really hits home, and I will be blogging about this subject as well.

I have also been thinking about Father’s Day and how my husband Ronnie attempted to be the best Father possible to my sons. That post will be on Sunday.

I am sure the subjects I have mentioned hit close to home for many.  I am looking forward to sharing my experiences and thoughts on these topics.

Until then thank you for all the phone calls, emails and texts I have received since my accident.

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, Domestic Violence, Dysfunctional Family Relationships, friends, friendships, Healing and Recovery, healthy relationships, Life's Blessings and Joys, Toxic Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Little Of This And A Little Of That

  1. Susan Sigmund says:

    Sorry you are going through more pain, Love You ..Aunt Sue

  2. Lots’ of love Becki! Sorry this has surfaced some painful things for you xo

  3. goldfish says:

    Ugh. Triggers. Booooooo. Here’s hoping it heals quickly.

  4. Becki, You are the strongest woman I know and I love you more than anything. Ronnie also still has one of his “kids” out there that loves him and appreciates him every single day!

  5. I read through your note and the one overview that Zoe sent me. That was horrible! I am so glad you are better and are going to be okay.
    Scott

    • Scott , yes I am very lucky .. again what is the master plan for me being here!! Surgeon said I was lucky glass did not go through my neck. The cut on my head was very small , I found glass in my hair for 2 days..Thanks for the well wishes.

  6. InfiniteZip says:

    Strength in words, peace friend. Wow…so deep and thank you for sharing yourself so truthfully.

Leave a Reply

