I like October, I like October… Who Am I trying To Fool? I Hate October!

It’s raining and gloomy here in Oregon. Today also is the first day of National Domestic Violence Awareness Month. October is also the anniversary of when I was stabbed. My wonderful husband, and soul mate’s birthday is in October. My loving and caring mother-in-law’s birthday is October 3rd, she will be 75 years old.

This year I am making an attempt to embrace October. Every year I dread this month with its fall colors and chilly nights. Most of my friends celebrate and love Halloween and work on their silly costumes in hopes of winning the best costume award. They decorate their yards and homes. I just wait quietly for November.

Last year I took a huge leap and went into the “Spirit Store”. The Spirit Store is a mega all things Halloween store. My neighbors grandson loves Halloween. I am talking like crazy loves it. I have never seen such a young person so excited about Halloween. I believe he starts getting ready in August. A long story short, this young lad was having a pretty rough year. His parents divorced, he along with his mother and sister moved in with their grandparents who live directly behind me. I have known them for years, and I am pretty sure my blog has shocked them even more than my fear of Halloween.

My husband and I decided that we wanted to do something special for the boy. Off to the Spirit store we went. Everywhere I looked was bloody knives and gore. Animated moving creatures were howling about. I was totally creeped out. I had an idea of what he wanted and would be excited to add to his collection. You see, we had these talks between the backyard fence for days about his excitement of the coming holiday that I hate. This little boy, and I am not kidding, went to at least one of the Halloween stores everyday. If you are reading this post “E” chime in. That’s his mother.

So Ronnie and I select the items, pay for them, and get the heck out of that store. The boy and his sister come over and you should of seen his excitement. He ran through my house so excited… I was happy because he was happy. Something October made a young boy happy. Outside of moist homemade pumpkin bread, not much about these 31 days makes me run through the house with excitement.

This year my hope is to make it through October without taking to many emergency feel better meds. Also if I can help even one woman escape domestic violence this month, it will be a great October for me. Again my email is beckikeyevents@gmail.com, my number is 503-544-7397. I am here for you. I will support you.

The National Domestic Violence Hotline number is 1-800-799-7233.

Image

This entry was posted in 1-800-799-7233, Child Abuse, Domestic Violence, Family Secrets, Healing and Recovery, National Domestic Awareness month, Stop Domestic Violence, Traumatic Experiences, Violent attacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I like October, I like October… Who Am I trying To Fool? I Hate October!

  1. Back at you Zoe !! It is now hailing here and sideways wind.. I can’t wait to move to the sun !! At least I am making progress with downsizing.

  2. Melanie says:

    I hope you have a good October this year.

  3. abbbz says:

    Wow, Amazing! I have been in that store as well and although I do like Halloween ( being raised as an orthodox jew I was not allowed to celebrate) that store scared the heck out of me. I commend you for speaking about this! Hugs from sunny NJ (I am sure not for long). Hope this month is helpful in your journey!

    • Hi Abby, I wish I could embrace Halloween. If it was all sparkles, rainbows and unicorns I might feel different. But usually its lots of violent looking get ups to me. Its sunny here today!! A miracle. hope you are doing ok.

      • Abby says:

        lol i totally understand that. In my kids school no scary costumes allowed so maybe it will be all rainbows and unicorns! I think if I went through all you did I would run from Halloween too! So glad the sun came to visit you today. All is well here in Dirty Jersey! 🙂

      • Jersey is beautiful !! Glad no scary costumes in your kids classrooms. It was a nice sunny day here,sending you peace and love.
        Becki

  4. goldfish says:

    Ooh, that time of year again? I’ve been writing about awareness month for years, but it’s nice to have company now. 🙂

  5. JackieP says:

    baby steps, it’s all in baby steps. You’ll do fine this year. hugs! Just keep thinking of sunshine and warmth.

  6. Thanks for the post,,it makes me feel like I’m not so alone. I am counting the days until the end of this month now too,,,,At the end of this month I shall be able to escape my narcissistic abuser.

  7. Pingback: Domestic Violence Awareness Month | Fish Of Gold

Leave a Reply

