Full Disclosure

I can’t change the past but the past has changed me. Matthew West wrote a song titled, “My Name Is.” In his lyrics there is a great phrase, “I am no longer defined by the wreckage behind.”

This week I faced yet another challenge, I had to dig very deep within myself for strength. I was scared to death, but knew the right thing was to completely disclose my past, so I popped a Xanax to calm my nerves, prayed that God and the universe would give me the strength to face the demons of my past. I copied some court records, pulled up my blog on my laptop and went into the meeting.

The Xanax didn’t help, my stomach was in knots, every nerve in my body was tense and raw. If I would of stood up, I would of fell face first of the floor.

I fully disclosed the tainted past that has haunted me for years.

The conversation went much better than I anticipated. Yesterday, I threw several monkeys off my back by providing a full disclosure of my past.

My message to anyone that may have a past that is filled with mistakes and bad choices. Don’t allow those mistakes to stop you from creating a career, find the courage and honesty to disclose them. Bring them to the forefront especially when applying for employment.

Background checks may say on the application that the check will only go back 7 or 10 years, trust me that check reveals everything. I decided not to put myself in the position to have someone have to find out my screw ups from an HR screening firm. I wanted it to be heard and read from me, all of it.

At the end of the day the decision was made to continue our relationship, to move forward create magic together all the way to the bank.

Have a safe and relaxing Memorial Day. In the next few days I am going to write about my new adventure into the event industry. I’m stepping it up a notch and big things are in the future.

 

This entry was posted in arizona, becki duckworth, Becoming accountable, Family Secrets, Healing and Recovery, leaving the past behind, My Life as an Celebrity Event Planner, new adventures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Full Disclosure

  1. Teela Hart says:

    That took a lot of courage and strength.
    Good for you
    Tee

  2. Denise Hisey says:

    Good for you Becki! That takes a lot of courage, and it paid off. Kudos to you!

  3. maria5125 says:

    That is great! Good luck to you and I can’t wait to read all about it!

Leave a Reply

